matrixnanax.blogg.se

Thebrain 9 recover backup of attachments
Thebrain 9 recover backup of attachments







thebrain 9 recover backup of attachments
  1. #Thebrain 9 recover backup of attachments manual
  2. #Thebrain 9 recover backup of attachments software

This means I have a 4-tiered backup strategy: These backups are stored in Dropbox (so I'll always have a web-based copy) - and I also have all my backups automatically synced with my remote CrashPlan account. In the meantime, I manually backup all my updated brains every night. At least, I am doing it much more selectively now.and I'm waiting to migrate into TB9 until some of the import, backup and storage capacity questions have been addressed.

thebrain 9 recover backup of attachments

Now that I've actually had a major data loss (yes, it was a stone cold shock!), I am now seriously reconsidering my decision to move files into TB.

thebrain 9 recover backup of attachments

However, I've since learned the attachments (including thought icons) contribute most significantly to the brain size, and since the maximum size we can sync is capped at 30GB, I realize this file management strategy really isn't as feasible as I had initially thought - at least until we have the option of storing larger brains on TB9 server. Admittedly, it took a while before I felt comfortable actually moving my files into TB (instead of simply linking them), but eventually I got to the point (several years ago) where I had hoped TB could almost completely replace my file manager. For years now, I've become increasingly relaxed about storing files in my megabrain. I also appreciate your warning about moving files into TheBrain. Definitely a word to the wise about the value of redundant backups! Thanks for sharing your data loss story, Paula. (With the automatic sync, you run the risk of losing this valuable recovery option.) > I also always sync manually so I have the option of retrieving accidentally deleted content in real time. > I only use the web client for remote brain access, brain sharing and occasionally retrieving a bit of deleted content in real time. Not having a clear folder structure also does create another set of concerns. Will be interested to see what TB staff recommends now in light of Mark's FolderMatch question.

#Thebrain 9 recover backup of attachments manual

I know nightly backups won't be feasible for monster brains like Mark's CW, but frequent manual backups are more important to me now than ever - and I was pretty fiendish about backing up before this brain loss occurred. Now I'm backing up all my brain files (zipping with a brz) almost every single night while I sleep. Ended up having to restore my mega-brain from my most recent (2-day old) backup. Couldn't even begin to assess the scope of the damage since my megabrain is so large (almost 33,000 thoughts & over 14GB).

thebrain 9 recover backup of attachments

Then, when I finally accessed the megabrain download, I discovered it was filled with bugs: lots of missing images in notes, image attachments and thought icons.

#Thebrain 9 recover backup of attachments software

However, I recently tried to download my megabrain from TB8 server (after my megabrain was deleted from my hard drive by a 3rd party software application) - and it took almost a dozen download attempts before I got it. Hopefully, TB9 server will be more reliable than TB8 server. Typo is his mane.įWIW, I'd recommend never relying (only) on TB server for any major backup or data retrieval. Writers and editors have their own demon. Is there a way to isolate those documents from the rest of TBs folders? Meaning are they all in one folder somewhere or are they scattered about? Right now I have TB save location as \Desktop\WIP\Brains. Where are the files that I would want to backup from the Brain? Especially since I may slowly move files into it vs using folders. Probably overkill but we're talking years worth of work potentially lost.Īnd yes, the brain is synced to the cloud but I'd like my control over this. Luckily, I do several backups, a sync, and a mirror of my project files so I was able to find replacements. I *think* I moved them vs copy to my phone then deleted them because the phone just isn't big enough for editing (and I have the huge Note 8). That recently saved my bacon when several project files disappeared. PersonalBrain 4.3 Experimental Release ArchiveĪs a writer, having multiple backups of files is important.









Thebrain 9 recover backup of attachments